The nominees for FNB Coffee Magazine Awards 2019 announced!

The FNB Coffee Magazine Awards (CMA) for 2019 nominations are out!  The FNB CMA winners will be announced at a gala dinner on Saturday, 29 June at Durban’s Waterfront Hotel at the conclusion of the popular FNB Creative Coffee Week.


The FNB CMAs, started in 2018, bring together the South African coffee professionals to recognise and celebrate excellence within the industry.  


“Besides the prestige and naturally competitive nature of the industry, it’s our intention to reward those who have made contributions to improving the industry,” said Coffee Magazine founder and editor-at-large, Melanie Winter. “This could be through philanthropy, mindfulness of the environment, influencing trends, innovation, market growth or simply by making decisions that shape our industry into a more desirable place for future coffee professionals. These awards celebrate diversity, champion transformation and reward those who create opportunities for others to flourish.”


Dedication to Education Award


This award is given to the person or company has dedicated time to coffee education. The 2019 nominees are:

Belinda Flynn – Flynn Coffee

Imile De Villiers – Ground Up Academy

Dave Bassett – Woza Coffee

Alyssa Blom – Truth Coffee

Lizaan Alberts – Ciro Beverage Solutions


Best Café Design


The spaces created for coffee add to the experience of enjoying the beverage in South Africa. These 2019 nominees are:



Father Coffee

The Whippet

Coco Safar


Excellence in Coffee Award


This coffee professional achieves excellence in their chosen area of the coffee production chain. S/he is innovative and recognised as a leadership figure in the industry by constantly inspiring others around them. The 2019 nominees are:

Mike MacDonald – Sevenoaks Trading

Jono Le Feuvre – Rosetta Roastery

David Walstra – Thirdspace

Cuth Bland – Bean There Coffee Company

Nicodemus Nabakwe – Sevenoaks Trading

Dylan & Robby Cumming – Beaver Creek Coffee

Donovan McLagan – Urban Espress


Best New Café


Cafés are meeting places, spaces for community, collaborations and first dates. There are new cafés opening every month and the standard is increasing year-on-year through better equipment, higher quality beverages, a fitting menu, improved service, innovative design, outfitting, creative seating, flow and ambience. The criteria stipulate this is a café that opened in the last 24 months which has created something special. The 2019 nominees are:


Brik Cafe

Holiday Coffee

Swan Cafe

Skyline Cafe


Best New Roastery


This category seeks to recognise roasteries that opened in the last three years and are gaining reputations as up-and-coming on the South African scene. The 2019 nominees are:

Bluebird Coffee Roastery

Beethoven Coffee Roastery

Manaka Roastery

Arbor Coffee Roastery

Asmara Coffee


Best Alternative Brewing Experience


Aeropress, Chemex, Siphon or V60 pour-over to name a few!  The 2019 nominees are:

Colombo Coffee & Tea

Origin Coffee Roasting

Bean There

Rosetta Roastery

Espresso Lab

Father Coffee


Barista Trainer of the Year


These nominees teach and inspire, they train and serve. They impart wisdom learned from thousands of hours behind the espresso machine and their subject matter is technique, science, aesthetic and service. The 2019 nominees are:

Bilbo Steyn – The Daily Buzz

Stevo Kuhn – Urban Brew

Percy Chikwira – Infood Coffee Society

Shaun Aupiais – Red Band Barista Academy

Philisile Mdabe – Ciro beverage Solutions

Belinda Flynn – Flynn Coffee


Coffee Personality of the Year 


These coffee professionals approach whatever they do with optimism, effervescence and inspiration. They fly the flag of the coffee community high and get involved in all areas, remaining dedicated throughout. The 2019 nominees are:

Khulekani Mpala – Weissenhof Coffee

Winston Thomas – Winston Douglas Consulting

Matt Carter – TriBeCa

Bilbo Steyn – The Daily Buzz

Chris Faragher – Holiday Coffee

George Karatzas – Equipment Cafe

Jonathan Robinson – Bean There Coffee Company


Coffee Team of the Year 


This award recognizes that it is people who make a coffee company great – from the owners who create a happy, respectful and creative ethos, to the staff who live the brand daily. A successful team is one where all the people in the space uphold the same values and consistently serve with excellence. The 2019 nominees are:

Sevenoaks Trading

Cape Coffee Beans

Infood Coffee Society

Craft Coffee

Mastertons Coffee

Bean There Coffee Company


Café of the Year 


This award goes to the establishment that has consistently created an amazing café experience for its patrons. They provide great coffee and food with excellent service, have great ambience, design and – most importantly – a loyal community of patrons. The 2019 nominees are:

Rosetta Silo District


Father Coffee

Truth Coffee

Big Dog Cafe

Naked Melrose Arch


Roastery of the Year


These nominees are the roasteries in South Africa that have forged the path for speciality coffee in the country. They continue to push the boundaries of coffee roasting by sourcing the best coffees, investing in the latest technology, while collaborating, sharing and engaging with the global roasting community. They educate, inform and inspire their customers – wholesale and retail – by bringing the highest quality coffee to the market. The 2019 nominees are:

Brothers Roastery


Rosetta Roastery

Father Coffee

Origin Coffee Roastery

Pause Coffee Roastery

Red Truck Coffee Roastery


Barista of the Year 


This award is not limited to coffee competitions but is the barista all-rounder. S/he is the barista who epitomizes what it means to understand, respect and serve amazing coffee experiences. They are masters of extraction, technique and technical understanding, but most of all, they cherish that it’s not just about the coffee served, but the serving. The 2019 nominees are:

Harry Mole – TriBeCa Coffee

Winston Thomas – Winston Douglas Consulting

Innocent Chakanyuka – Truth Coffee

Simnikiwe Mkhize – Roasetta Roastery

Chris Abrahams – Ciro Beverage Solutions

Rodney Swartz – Champs Musical

Jabu Thumbuni – Toast Food Co