Effie Awards South Africa 2022 judges announced

Share this...

The Association for Communication and Advertising (ACA) and Effie South Africa are pleased to announce that the jury for the 2022 Effie Awards South Africa has been confirmed. The most effective marketing communications campaigns for the 2022 programme  will be announced at the gala awards ceremony to be held in Johannesburg on the 27th October 2022

Highly regarded across the broader industry, the judges will be tasked with Awarding Ideas that Work®. Members of the jury as announced have extensive experience in the marketing, communications and advertising sector, consisting of industry leaders and trail blazers drawn from a variety of disciplines including strategy, digital, creative, research, media and marketing.

“We are absolutely thrilled at the calibre of judges for this year’s Effie Awards. As a collective they represent a truly diverse and representative selection of the entire sector, consisting of top-level, experienced professionals on both client and agency side. The individuals entrusted with awarding cases represent a variety of advertising and marketing disciplines, key to an effective and equitable process,” says Mathe Okaba, ACA CEO.

Round one of judging to select the shortlist has been completed with the second round scheduled to take place on the 24th August. During the second round, all shortlisted campaigns which have proven to be effective and having achieved marketing objectives will be evaluated by a second group of judges. Round two of judging will identify those campaigns that will be recognised as having achieved finalist status and those deserving of being awarded a highly respected Effie Award.

The Effie Awards’ top honour, the Grand Effie, will be judged by a third jury. The Grand Effie judging panel consists of C-Suite representatives, tasked with awarding the most effective campaign of the year. Grand Effie winners are drawn from cases adjudicated in round two as Effie Gold winners.

Varied panels adjudicating cases across the first two rounds and Grand Effie ensures that winning cases would have been subjected to extensive rigour throughout the adjudication process. The jury is tasked with the responsibility of maintaining the integrity of the industry’s ability to deliver against business objectives and highlight the benefit to business objectives and bottom line our sector is able to deliver,” concludes Okaba.

The full panel of Effie Awards 2022 judges is as follows:

Amy HarperSenior Digital StrategistWunderman Thompson
Angie HattinghStrategic Planning DirectorSuperunion
Arisha SaroopManaging DirectorThe Media Shop
Atiyya KarodiaStrategy DirectorVMLY&R
Avik SarkarMarketing DirectorKellogg’s SA
Babalwa NyembeziIntergrated Strategy DirectorWunderman-Thompson
Beyers van der MerweChief Executive: MarketingPEP
Bongani ChinkandaManaging DirectorThe Brave Group
Brandon GovenderIntegrated Executive Creative DirectorJoe Public United Durban
Brenda KhumaloFounder & Managing Director LobengulaLobengula Advertising
Brendan HoffmannExecutive Creative DirectorJoe Public CPT
Bridget HarpurHead of MarketingVolkswagen SA
Brunella BoamardLead: Brand Integration/ExecutionAbsa
Bruno CosentinoCMO Africa AB InBevAB InBev
Buli NdlovuExecutive Head of Marketing: Retail & Business BankingNedbank
Candice GoodmanManaging DirectorMobitainment
Carl UngererHead of digitalMediology
Carol Anne GallarelliGroup Managing DirectorOFyt
Daniel SteynHead of StrategyMullenLowe
Danny de NobregaManaging PartnerKilmer & Cruise
Danny GreeffDigital Media OwnerRebelRebel
Dashni VilakaziManaging DirectorsThe Media Shop
Deborah WhitlockHead of Intergrated StrategyJoe Public
Derek ColesManaging DirectorMcCann1886
Dono WhiteStrategic Planning DirectorVMLY&R
Einstein MwaitaCreative DirectorWetpaint Advertising
Elizabeth MokwenaMarketing DirectorUnilever
Ethel RamosManaging DirectorAvatar PR
Gabi BernsteinStrategy DirectorGabi Bernstein Cosulting
Grace CooperSenior StrategistVMLY&R
Ille PotgieterManaging DirectorM&C Saatchi Abel
Isla PrentisIntelligence LeadPark Advertising (Tirisano)
Ivan MorokeCEOKantar
Jabulani SigegeExecutive Creative DirectorMachine
Jaco LintveltIndustry ManagerGoogle
Jason HarrisonCo-Founder & Group Managing DirectorM&C Saatchi Abel
Johanna McDowellFounder and CEOIAS Agency Selection
Justine DrakeExecutive Content DirectorJohn Brown Media
Kagiso MothapoSenior StrategistBrave Group
Katinka PretoriusManaging directorSunshinegun
Katlego MoutlanaChief Strategy OfficerPromise Group
Kevin NdinguriManaging DirectorUM Africa
Koo GovenderCEODentsu SA
Leigh TaylerIntegrated Strategy DirectorJoe Public
Lesego KotaneManaging DirectorKing James
Lesego MoagiMarketing Group ExecutiveThe Building Company
Louise JohnstonManaging DirectorGrey Advertising Africa
Lynne KrawchukVP PR, Media Relations and DigitalAPO Group
Makosha Maja-RasethabaPartner: Head of StrategyM&C Saatchi Abel
Marc AshwellHead of Integrated MarketingRMB (Rand Merchant Bank)
Maxine Selmer-OlsenStrategic PlannerGrey Advertising Africa / WPP Team Liquid
Megan MitchellPR & Influence DirectorOld Friends Young Talent (OFyt)
Mia RoetsExperience Design DirectorJoe Public
Michael PearceManaging PartnerMediology
Mogorosi MashiloFounder & DirectorTrendER
Mosala PhillipsChief Marketing OfficerOld Mutual
Natalie BothaCreative & Media Director KantarKantar
Nkululeko VilakaziCreative DirectorOliver Marketing (Ustudio)
Parusha PartabGroup Strategy DirectorWunderman Thompson
Quanita SalieGeneral ManagerMetaMedia
Raphael Janan KuppasamyArt DirectorJoe Public
Robert GraceCo-founder & Head of StrategyM&C Saatchi
Rosemary BaronettiStrategy DirectorKing James
Sadika FakirIntegrated Media & Digital DirectorTiger Brands
Samantha CondonClient PartnerDemographica
Sapho DlangamandlaCEOKanaka
Sarvesh SeetaramDirector: Corporate and Group Marketing StrategyTiger Brands
Shehan SamarasinhaDirector / Chief Strategy OfficerTriad
Shelley AtkinsonExecutive Creative DirectorMurmur
SJ NaudeExecutive Creative DirectorMurmur
Talent RupapaDigital PlannerMetaMedia
Thabang SkwambaneGroup CEONahana Communications Group
Thabiso LawrenceSenior Strategic PlannerWunderman Thompson
Theo SpencerManaging Partner AfricaOliver Marketing (Ustudio)
Thulani SibekoChief Brand and Marketing OfficerStandard Bank Group
Tshiamo TladiHead of Strategy: Retail & ShopperKing James Group
Wendy BedforthBrand DirectorAB InBev
Wendy BergsteedtGroup Head of MarketingCoronation Fund Managers
Xavier OlivierFounder & Managing DirectorDark Matter
Yasmin KathoriaBrand Growth DirectorKantar Consulting
Zayd AbrahamsCMO / Financial ConsultantFNB
Zizwe VundlaMarketing & Innovation DirectorDiageo South Africa
Zumi NjongweConsumer Communication and Marketing DirectorNestle ESAR

Effie Awards South Africa is organised by the ACA with sponsors Nedbank, Sanlam, SAB, RMB, GIB, Aon, Investec and Metropolitan.

For more information visit the Effie Awards South Africa website at www.effieawards.co.za or visit www.acasa.co.za.

Follow @EffieSouthAfrica on Facebook, Instagram, YouTube and @EffieAwardsSA on Twitter to keep up to date on the latest developments.