Tyrelife Solutions SA Para Surfing Championships results

Share this...

Small, consistent and contestable conditions made for an incredible two-day event at the iconic New Pier, in Durban for the TyreLife Solutions SA Para Surfing Champs 2022. Although the forecast was looking grim, the weather held up nicely and contestants were blessed with a beautiful day 1 of competition on Saturday and a chilly day 2 of competition- with the rain holding off for most of the morning on Sunday.

Organiser and host of the event, local NPO, Made for More’s Founder Julia Van Zyl said, “It is our biggest joy and privilege to host the country’s best adaptive surfers and to witness the sport growing year by year. Each year, the vibe on the beach grows, the smiles get bigger and the passion, skill and dedication of the athletes more palpable. For us, it’s so much more than just surfing- its access, its inclusion, its opportunity and mostly its belonging- we really are a close-knit community”.

50 surfers (34 men and 16 women) competed from four provinces around the country including Western Cape, Eastern Cape, Gauteng and KwaZulu-Natal. In the end, it was the home province KwaZulu-Natal who took top honours, with Western Cape in second and Eastern Cape and Gauteng in third and fourth respectively. A special mention and thank you to Surfing South Africa for the beautiful medals, expert contest personal and for being the National Federation of Para Surfing in the country.

From this national event, the South African Team will be selected by Surfing South Africa to go to the ISA World Para Surfing Championships in Pismo Beach, California, USA in December.

The Prone Asssist division is always the biggest and most hotly contested division at Nationals, and this year was no different with many new development surfers coming up the ranks from grassroot programmes in both Cape Town and Durban.

All throughout the contest, the women’s division saw changes in leadership with Natashia Siebert and Alulutho Tshoba hot on each other’s heels and Noluthando Makalima not far behind. In the end it was Alulutho Tshoba who took the gold with huge off the tops and some carves. Silver went to Natashia Siebert, bronze Noluthando Makalima and copper to Zubeida Bux.

In the men’s prone assist, two more experienced campaigners went all out against 3 new contestants to the sport. It was incredible to see the bar being raised as each heat went on and the development athletes grew in confidence and skill. Special mention to Raemondo Lessing who was awarded the best wave of the contest and surfed his way to an excellent score. In the end, there was a clear winner with veteran Oliver Sinclair finishing a solid 11.9 points above his competitors. Raemondo jumped from 4th position to second to claim the silver medal, while Diego Saal, James Sinclair and Mark Charlesworth finished 3rd, 4th and 5th respectively.

Coach and water assistant Wendy Heslop said, “I can honestly say that this weekend was the highlight of my year and our monthly Made for More Surf sessions are at the top of my list – definitely when my heart is happiest. The heart, passion, organisation and time Made for More put into last weekend showed and the leadership is a great example of service and love. I am blessed to be a part of it all.”

The feeling and incredible vibe on the beach witnessing the adaptive surfing community both in and out of the water was truly humbling, emotional, inspiring and full of joy.  

Thank you to the investment and partnership of Tyrelife Solutions who made the event possible by covering the running costs as well as the prizemoney, and who continue to journey with the counties best Para Surfers.

The results were as follows:

Stand 1 Men:

1.       Awande Mhlongo (Mandeni, KZN)   

Stand 2 Men:

1.       JP Veaudry (East London, EC)

Stand 3 Men:

1.       Caleb Swanepoel (Pinelands, Cape Town, WC)

2.       Lerato Seroke (Newcastle, KZN)

3.       Thando Ngcikwe (Khayelitsha, Cape Town, WC)

Kneel / Sit Men:

1.       Dave Williams (Glen Anil, KZN)

2.       Emihle Sombexe (Delft, Cape Town, WC)

3.       Tyler Pike (Kommetjie, WC) 

Kneel / Sit Women:

1.       Similo Dlamini (New Germany, KZN)

Waveski Men:

1.       Doug Hendrikz (Forest Hills, KZN)

2.       Martin Ferreira (Pretoria, GP)

VI 1 (Blind) Men:

1.       Danito Mondlane (Berea, KZN)

VI 2 (Visual Impairment) Men:

1.       Asande Sibisi (Nqutu, KZN)         

2.       Sabelo Ngema (Eshowe, KZN)

VI 2 (Visual Impairment) Women:

1.       Michele MacFarlane (WC)

Prone 1 (Unassist) Men:

1.       Tiaan du Plessis (Bluff, KZN)

2.       Ricardo Mateus (Westville, KZN)

Prone 1 (Unassist) Women:

1.       Tracy McKay (Bluff, KZN)

Prone 2 (Assist) Men:

1.       Oli Sinclair (Winston Park, KZN)

2.       Raemondo Lessing (Khayelitsha, Cape Town, WC)

3.       Diego Saal (WC)

4.       James Sinclair (Morningside, KZN)

5.       Mark Charlesworth (Assagay, KZN)

Prone 2 (Assist) Women:

1.       Aluluto Tshoba (Clermont, KZN)

2.       Natashia Siebert (Kingsburgh, KZN)

3.       Noluthando Makalima (Khayelitsha, Cape Town, WC)

4.       Zubeida Bux (Durban, KZN)

5.       Jodie Kroone (Botha’s Hill, KZN)

6.       Tina Mojie (WC)

7.       Cwenga Nonqane (Gugulethu, Cape Town, WC)

All Inclusive Prone Men:

1.       Peter Comrie (Westville, KZN)

2.       Nathaniel Naidoo (Merebank, KZN)

3.       Storm Schwartz (Doonside, KZN)

4.       Thabiso Mabaso (Hillcrest, KZN)

5.       Krishiv Katuwaro (Howick, KZN)

6.       Charles Phillips (Westville, KZN)

All Inclusive Prone Women:

1.       Smangele Mefka (KwaMashu, KZN)

2.       Zizi Zukulu (Ntuzuma, KZN)

3.       Sanelisiwe Kweyama (Umlazi, KZN)

4.       Chloe Malcomess (Kloof, KZN)

5.       Phumelelisiwe Pearl Mbele (Umlazi, KZN)

All Inclusive Stand Men:

1.       Sean Thompson (Ramsgate, KZN)

2.       Zolani Dube (KwaMashu, KZN)

3.       Melwa Ngema (Eshowe, KZN)

4.       Jarryd Smith (Sheffield Beach, KZN)

5.       Anthony Eastwood (Austerville, KZN)

6.       Camden Harwood (Capri Village, Cape Town, WC)

7.       David Klinkradt (Vredekloof Heights, Cape Town, WC)

8.       Atang Moabi (Umbilo, KZN)

All Inclusive Stand Women:

1.       Alwande Khuzwayo (Bluff, KZN)

Provincial Team Placing

1.       KwaZulu-Natal (26 693 points)

2.       Western Cape (8916 points)

3.       Eastern Cape (1000 points)

4.       Gauteng (860 points)