Fundi sponsors inaugural Higher Education Women Leaders’ Humanitarian Award

Share this...

The recently launched Higher Education Women Leaders Awards celebrate remarkable women across the country who contribute to the development of young South Africans on a daily basis. The awards honour their work and the impact of their creative thinking, innovation and talent on the lives of others. As a key enabler in the higher education space, Fundi joined other sponsors on the night – presenting the Humanitarian Award to Professor Thembisa Nqondi.

Started almost two decades ago, HERS-SA (Higher Education Resource Services: South Africa) is a self-sustaining non-profit organisation, dedicated to the advancement and leadership development of women in the higher education sector. 2023 has proved a signature year for HERS-SA – launching the inaugural Higher Education Women Leaders Awards. Held in Woodstock in Cape Town, Fundi joined the evening’s celebrations – sponsoring the Humanitarian Award.

Speaking at the event, Bulelwa Tutani, Fundi’s Stakeholder and Partner Relations Manager, shared how Fundi was introduced to HERS-SA by HELM an organisation within the higher education sector. “We’re privileged to be part of this inaugural event. Celebrating women leaders in education – and empowering women in this space – is critical for the future of education in South Africa. While so much work has already been done here, so much more work is still needed. This is why we’re here this evening: to pay it forward with others in the sector committed to making a difference.”

Award categories included those of Lifetime Achiever; Trailblazer; Humanitarian; Women in STEM; Women in Humanities and Social Sciences; Women in Academic Administration, as well as Emerging Young Women Leaders.

“Our sponsorship of the Humanitarian Award was directly in alignment with our value of care, and the impact we seek to create in the lives of others and in our communities,” says Tutani.

Professor Thembisa Nqondi from the Cape Peninsula University of Technology was selected winner of this prestigious award, with notable finalists including Prof Kulsum Kondiah (University of Johannesburg); Mrs Melany Lotter (University of Johannesburg); Dr Ndivhuwo Luruli (University of Johannesburg); and Prof Boitumelo Diale University of Johannesburg.

“We would like to congratulate all finalists and award winners on their remarkable achievements. More importantly though, we would like to thank them for their contribution and the impact they’re making every day – shaping the hearts and minds of our youth and future leaders. This is the legacy they’re helping build through their work. We applaud and honour them,” concludes Tutani.