Big wins as Durban hosts the successful 2023 AIRE-ZA KZN Para Surfing Champs

Share this...

The extremely challenging hot and windy conditions on Saturday, 11 March 2023 didn’t deter the 43 KZN athletes – all with varying disabilities – as they took to the water at Durban’s Addington Beach to compete in this year’s AIRE-ZA KZN Para Surfing Champs.

“These were some of the most challenging conditions we have ever witnessed at a para surfing competition, but this didn’t deter the bravery, perseverance, and skill from shining through our incredible surfers,” said Julia van Zyl, Founding Director of the non-profit organisation, Made for More. “Athletes came from all over the province to test their skills, with fellow surfers, volunteers, and families supporting from the sidelines.”

Van Zyl said that the Made for More team, coaches, water and land assists also put their bodies on the line to make sure the event ran seamlessly.

“I’d also like to extend special thanks to the headline sponsor AIRE-ZA, led by Dean Munsamy who braved the windswept conditions and stayed to support the event the entire day. To have our sponsors support financially and also get hands-on involved in the day was truly special,” she said.

This year’s winner of the Prone 2 (Assist) Men’s division, Oliver Sinclair commented:

“Thank you to everyone involved… I have mad, crazy love for every one of you and I trust every single one of you with my life. There is a reason why no one else was in the ocean today! The conditions were wild, but if you were a competitor you overcame the challenges, if you were a volunteer you safely took a bunch of differently able-bodied athletes into the ocean on a day when able-bodied people steered clear of the ocean, and if you were an organiser your nerves must be shot by now. Once again, Made for More has hosted an amazing event. Next stop, Cape Town for SA Champs. Let’s go Team KZN!”

A newcomer to the competition, Luthando Maphumulo, thanked everyone for the ‘love and support’:

“It really means a lot that no matter how much we fall, you still find a way to lift us up and show us a good time. Truly, God has done well by bringing such loving and caring people into an organisation that empowers disabled people, and you are living the motto ‘I can and I will.’ Today was made possible because of your determination and love.”

Results for the AIRE-ZA KZN Para Surfing Championships 2023

Stand 1 Men:                    

Awande Mhlongo (Mandeni)     

Stand 3 Men:                    

Lerato Seroke (Newcastle)          

Kneel / Sit Women:                        

Similo Dlamini (New Germany) 

Kneel / Sit Men:               

1. David Williams (Glen Anil)      

2. Lerato Seroke (Newcastle)     

3. Lindani Osborn (Inanda) 

Waveski Men:                  

1. Doug Hendrikz (Forest Hills)   

2. Gavin Smith (Hillcrest) 

Prone 1 (Unassist) Women:                        

1. Tracy McKay (Bluff)   

2. Sanelisiwe Kweyama (Umlazi)

3. Alulutho Tshoba (Cleremont)

Prone 1 (Unassist) Men:               

Ricardo Mateus (Westville) 

Prone 2 (Assist) Women:                             

1. Natashia Siebert (Kingsburgh)

2. Zubeida Bux (Durban Central)

3. Jodie Kroone (Botha’s Hill)      

4. Nelisiwe Sibiya (Pietermaritzburg)      

5. Nonsikelelo Mdlalose (Vryheid)           

6. Mpilenhle Zungu (Mandeni)  

7. Katleho Ncama (Hammarsdale)

Prone 2 (Assist) Men:                    

Oliver Sinclair (Winston Park) 

VI 2 Women:                     

Alwande Mthembu (Bluff) 

VI 2 Men:                           

1. Asande Sibisi (Nqutu)

2. Zolani Dube (KwaMashu)        

3. Sabelo Ngema (Eshowe)         

4. Atang Moabi (Umbilo) 

All-Inclusive Prone Women:                       

1. Kerry Noble (Pinetown)          

2. Zizipho Zukulu (Pinetown)     

3. Samukelisiwe Ngcobo (Springfield)     

4. Chloe Malcomess (Kloof)        

5. Thembelihle Khoza (Umlazi)  

6. Sinaye Shange (Thornville)     

7. Aphile Mkhize (Newlands West)

All-Inclusive Prone Men:                              

1. Thabiso Mabaso (Hillcrest)     

2. Krishiv Kutwaro (Howick)        

3. Nathaniel Naidoo (Merebank)              

4. Daniel Tucker (Pinetown)       

5. Peter Comrie (Westville) 

All-Inclusive Stand Men:               

1. Melwa Ngema (Eshowe)         

2. Anthony Eastwood (Austerville)          

3. Luthando Maphumulo (Verulam)        

4. Charles Phillips (Westville)     

5. Jarryd Smith (Sheffield Beach)              

6. Storm Schwartz (Doonside) 

The athletes now eagerly await the KZN team selection for the Tyrelife Solutions SA ParaSurfing Championships in Cape Town from 19 to 21 May. Here the KZN team hopes to retain their longstanding title of SA Provincial Champions.

For more information, visit